Cajun Restaurant and Antique Hunt

So as promised, here is a rundown on some of the jammin’ joints my mom and I discovered on our week-long antique and fried food hunt.  Ha!  You think I’m kidding…

We hit the ground running and conquered every antique store in Mandeville, Covington, Madisonville, Abita Springs, Hammond, and Ponchatoula (not all in one day of course) in search of the best antique deals and the best dive restaurants in town.

A glorious (Food Network Diners Drive-Ins and Dives recognized) restaurant was one of the first on our list.  How could we pass up a place called Louie and the Redhead Lady?!

Louie and The Redhead Lady

Louie and The Redhead Lady

Especially since Guy Fieri said it was the bomb.  I’ll tell you what…their fried green tomatoes with shrimp and remoulade sauce are to die for.

Fried Green Tomatoes

Fried Green Tomatoes

I wanted to drink that sauce, but it was even better dipping some fried goodness in it…which is what we continued doing with the fried shrimp, oysters, softshell crab, hushpuppies and sweet potato fries.

Louie’s Seafood Platter (with EXTRA remoulade sauce)

Louie’s Seafood Platter (with EXTRA remoulade sauce)

Every bite we put in our mouths was fresh with a light crispy batter, but the best part of the meal was the CUTEST redhead lady ever.  Ginger, the owner, just sat right down, chatted with us and stole our hearts.

The Redhead Lady (Ginger) and Me!

The Redhead Lady (Ginger) and Me!

And I thought Texans were friendly…this place is a whole new pace of life and caliber of friendly.  And I’m lovin’ it.  As the sign says, they’re not fancy, they’re family.  And it’s workin for ‘em.

Great motto...

Great motto...

Here is a pic of an “antique” store we stumbled upon (in between meals)!  It was a crack up…basically a glorified junk yard with some of the best finds we snatched up the whole trip.

Blue Moon Antiques

Blue Moon Antiques

Next stop was Liz’s Where Y’At Diner.  Another clever name.  And wouldn’t ya know who greeted us at our table, but Liz herself.  Of course.

Liz's Where Y'at Diner

Liz's Where Y'at Diner

Check out the dive-bomber, artery cloggin’ meals we had.  I had Momma’s Grillades and Grits (Grillades = Cajun creation of shredded beef gravy…genius) – oh, with a biscuit and two fried  eggs on top (CALL 911).

Momma's Grillades and Grits

Momma's Grillades and Grits

And my mom had Eggs Benedict – hold up, with creamed spinach…mmm…

Eggs Bene - with creamed spinach...mmm...

Eggs Bene - with creamed spinach...mmm...

Check out the “Go-Cups” as they call ‘em.  Other Cajun slang terms on the cup that you can’t see…

Howz ya momma ‘n’ dem?
Da’ Storm
Da’ Parish (Cajun word for “County”)
Gawd it’s hot!
Yeah u rite!
We Dat, baby!
How’bout dem’ Saints
Where Y’at?
Can I Git a Go-Cup?

Hey Dawlin' "Go Cup"

Hey Dawlin' "Go Cup"

Here is us at a pit stop – the Ponchatoula Bakery.  The town of Ponchatoula is famous for their strawberrys…so I had some famous strawberries in the form of a cupcake and my mom had a carrot cake personal serving of happiness.  Incredible.  Worth going back for.

Ponchatoula Bakery Cupcakes

Ponchatoula Bakery Cupcakes

Then we made our way to New Orleeeeeans to meet up with the Schneider clan (minus brother Gregory).  Took a picture out front of Little Darlings (not a family friendly establishment…and they don’t offer any food there aside from edible panties).  Needless to say, just a photo opp.

Little Darlings

Little Darlings

And on to dinner at the oh-so-fancy Galatoire’s.  Zach had to wear a jacket that they gave him. HAHAHA!!  Too fancy for photo opps.   We saved room for dessert at the famous Café Du Monde – Beignets and coffee.  (That’s all they sell by the way – talk about honing in on your niche.)  My first beignet experience and all I can say is powdered sugar-coated bites of puffy donut-like pillows.  Wow….just wow.

Kitchen of Cafe Du Monde

Kitchen of Cafe Du Monde

Beignets at Cafe Du Monde

Beignets at Cafe Du Monde

Everyone LOVED the beignets as you can see…

(L to R) Zach's hand, my mom (Pris), Hedy, 'Big Greg' and Rosie

(L to R) Zach's hand, my mom (Pris), Hedy, 'Big Greg' and Rosie

Oh and the best reuben sandwich I’ve ever had in my life was the next day at Camellia Grill.  Get a load of this…

Camillia Grill Butter Coated Ruben Sandwich...OH YEAH!

Camellia Grill Butter Coated Reuben Sandwich...OH YEAH!

(Excellent restaurants conquered, but not pictured:  Del Porto, Covington Farmer’s Market, Rips, and Coffee Rani)

So that’s the Cajun Restaurant Hunt.  I swear we actually did more than just eat…here are a couple pics of the party patio and back porch that had NOTHING before my mom came in town.  Thanks for helping me find these goodies, Mom!

Back Porch

Back Porch

Another back porch shot...

Another back porch shot...

Furnished Party Patio!!

Furnished Party Patio!!

5 responses to “Cajun Restaurant and Antique Hunt

  1. Here’s a couple of gals who KNOW how to have FUN!!!
    xoxo

  2. Looks like you had a great time! Love the reviews. I’m ready for a road trip in search of those places!!

  3. Landon I had no idea you lived in Mandeville! Some of my best friends from college (including my big sis in Pi Phi) is from Mandeville. I am so glad you are loving Louisiana! If you ever need any more suggestions of great restaurants let me know because holy cow there are a lot of great places to eat in Louisiana! You and your husband should also go on a tour of the Abita brewery in Abita Springs…super fun!

    • Abbey!! I would LOVE some restaurant suggestions…and would love to meet any of your friends if they’re back in town. Tryin’ to make some new friends out here in the Bayou! 🙂 Zach and I actually went to the Abita Brewery when we were here on a house hunting visit. It was AWESOME! What kinda brewery tour lets you serve your own draft beer – all you can drink. Ha! Great concept. Call me if you’re ever in the area. Great to hear from you!

      xoxo,
      Landon

  4. Lauren Cochran

    Ahh! Cafe Du Monde is my all time favorite! Now I’m craving fried amazingness at 7:30 AM!

Leave a comment